Who is Who

Indra Gandhi-              First Woman Prime Minister of India

Pratibha Patil-             First woman President of India

Jayanti  Patnayak- First Chairperson (NCW)    

Bhima Bai Holker-  Freedom Fighter

Mother Teresa-   First Indian woman to win aNoble Peace Prize in 1979

Kasturba Gandhi-  Swadeshi Movement

Justice M. Fathima Beevi-   First Female Judge

Vina Mazumdar-  Founder-Director, CWDS

Durgabai Deshmukh- Member of Indian Institute Assembly 

Bhakti Sharma-  First Indian and First Asian to swim 1.4 miles in Antarctic Ocean

Kalpana Chawla- First Indian woman in space

Brinda Karat-   First Women Member of CPI (M) and General Secretary of All India Democratic Women’s Association 

Vijay Laxmi Pandit- Sister of Jawahar Lal Nehru

Bachendri Pal- First Indian woman to reach the Summit of Mount Everest   

Swarnakumari Devi-   Sister of Rabindranath Tagore

Sushma Swaraj-          Minister of External Affairs

Fatima Beevi- Governer of Tamilnadu (1997-2001)

Zibunnisa- Daughter of Aurangzeb

Saina Nehwal- First Indian woman to become no. 1 in World Ranking

Priya Jhingan- First Indian woman to join the Indian Army

Sania Mirza-    First ever Indian woman to win a Women’s Tennis Association (WTA)

Jahan Ara Begum-      Daughter of Emperor Shah Jahan and Mumtaj Mahal

Anandibai Joshi-         India’s first lady doctor

Jayanti Ghosh-            UNDP Prize For Excellence In Analysis

Amartya Sen-              Noble Prize Winner

Maria Montessori-       Montessori Method of Education

Wangari Muta Maathai-   Noble Peace Prize

Ela Bhatt-     Founder, SEWA (1972)

Rupa Devi- India’s first international referee for FIFA

Vina Majumdar-   Founder, CWDS

Kiran Bedi-      First IPS Officer In India

Read also Women Empowerment Quotes